top of page

Fiddle Leaf Fig, My Fickle Ficus

Updated: Jun 27, 2019

For the last few weeks, I've been obsessing over acquiring this plant. Why? Because it seemed like any Boho chic lady had one in their home and honestly, it's super beautiful! This is my new FLF, I just bought her yesterday from Lowe's for $19.99 and I'm over the moon about it! I must admit that I bought this plant without really doing my research and what I've learned so far tells me that this plant is as finicky as it gets. So here she is, a picture of this beauty.

She's just so lush and green. I love her.

God, I freaking love the internet! The first thing I did today was Google everything I could learn about FLF. According to Proflowers, the FLF is a tropical plant, so they prefer humidity for them to really thrive. I'm from Chicago, where sometimes it's humid and sometimes it's so perfect outside you can deal with the crap winters here... Anyways, the reason I mention my hometown is because, well it's a very fickle plant. Why? Well because like I said, FLFs like moisture in the air and I'm not sure how "wet" my townhome is but I have the air going so I'm going to assume, slim to none. Basically, you should get your plant a humidifier (such a needy diva) or mist the leaves with water everyday. Also, Fiddle Leaf Figs LOVE a lot of bright indirect light (BTW indirect light means not outside under the sun. I never understood what this meant and I had to kill a plant to find out). So make sure it's near a window that's facing East (whatever direction that even means... who uses NESW anyways?!) where it'll receive the most light. I had to ask my boyfriend which window faced East, so most of my plants are at that window BUT (ugh...) there's an air vent right there and you guessed it! FLF do not like drafts... I have half a mind to put a scarf around it. Sheesh. And on a random note, I am realizing that if there were ever a zombie apocalypse, I probs wouldn't even survive the first day because I don't even know which way East is.


Anyways, I found another page called Gardenista on how to care fo FLF. Mostly, there's really good information about propagating your Fig. If you don't know what propagating is, don't fret, I didn't know what it was either. What it means is growing a brand new plant from your original plant! Really cool things about plants are that they usually tell you what they need. For FLF specifically, if the edges of its leaves are brown and it looks droopy and sad then it's under-watered. If the leaves have brown spots then it's over-watered. There's so much more information on FLF, and I encourage all of you to do your own research because there are so many variables like where you live, what's your job can you water it all of the time or will it be neglected? If you are able to care for this plant, I highly urge you to try caring for your very own Fiddle Leaf Fig! Now get going plant mom (or dad) and tell me about your FLF journey!!!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentar


bottom of page