top of page

Just a bit of paint!

Hey guys! I bought this bookshelf that was on sale from Target for $35. It was originally $70.99.



I’m legit the worst because I didn’t take a picture of how the book shelf looked in our upstairs loft. This shelf was a dark espresso brown color and it was beautiful. Just what we aka I needed for the room, however, the dark red leather couch plus the darker gray/green walls made the entire room look dreary! It didn't help that the side table was a super dark stain with black metal and the floor lamp was like a dark brass color. Point is? The room was just... eck. So, I thought why not paint the shelf?!

This is the first coat!

I went into Home Depot and looked at a few colors. It turns out you can make any paint that they have into chalk paint. I decided I liked the color Saddle Tan 80YR 32/339 which I bought a quart of. Once you have finished painting, you'll want to seal it. You don't necessarily have to but I read that if you ever put cold drinks on it, the color will run. I also like solid clean cut lines and don't really care for the finish to look "rustic". You can really do whatever finish you want but I personally think matte or satin will look the best! I just used a roller that is specific for painting cabinets. Apparently different rollers have different finishes. Anyways, I painted the shelf at least 3 times and then sealed it with the chalk paint wax! Once I let the shelf dry for 24 hours, I was able to handle it aka put every DVD and book I own onto it.

It was such a small change for the room. But I think it adds a pop of color without drawing specific attention to it. My next purchase for this room is to add a beautiful painting or artwork above it -- I just have to figure out what...


All in all, I'm really happy with the way it turned out. It was soooooo easy. There wasn't any measuring or cutting like I have had to do with my previous pieces. All I had to do was paint it! I would love to hear about your next DIY project! Share your stories with me!


Thanks love, and until next time <3

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page