top of page

Kullen Ikea Hack Pt 1

A few years ago, I had bought three Kullen dressers from Ikea. They are $59.99 a pop. It was cheap and it got the job done the last couple of years. One is in my closet for all of my lady wear. The other two are in front of our bed pushed together side by side.


They're upside down but here's what they look like!

So, in reality, there are many ways to go about Ikea Hacks because they’re just made to be played around and redesigned to fit each home! Honestly, the possibilities are endless, like if you just Google or Pinterest "Ikea Hacks" so many posts will pop up. The easy thing to do is maybe using Washi Tape or contact paper to give it a new look, however, I wasn't about to do anything easy... I just finished my two bedside tables ALL BY MYSELF, so I had to keep the DIY challenges going. I told myself that if I got this done I’m gonna get me a tool belt.


My first issue with these dressers were that they were too low. Which is super weird because I am 5'2" and for some reason I want to feel like a little kid in a giants home by adding furniture legs to everything. I went to Home Depot and found decent sized wood in their discount section and had it cut to fit my dressers. I have zero idea what kind of wood I used so don’t ask. I just asked the HD lumber guy if what I’m getting was sturdy enough. What I wanted to do was use two long pieces of wood, one in front where the drawers were and one in the back to make the foundation sturdy and also to be able to add legs to it since the actual dresser is just laminate wood pieces aka why they’re $59.99.



The two skinny ones are for the foundation!

There's also more pieces of wood because I had waited a little while to begin this project and I kind of forgot what pieces were going to be used. I basically created more work for myself. I’m like the worst laziest person ever. So, I had first sanded all of the wood using a palm sander. Make sure to sand near the edges to round them and to prevent getting splinters. Then I took the pieces of upstairs into our bedroom. Make sure you have a tarp down and to have good ventilation. (It helps when you do your project in the room or same vicinity) I used a few 2" clamps to connect the two sides together to stop them from moving around. Then I laid the two skinny pieces onto the bottom of the dresser.


Those clamps worked wonders!

I thought it would help if I drilled at least 2 screws onto the plank and dresser so that there's added stability when adding the furniture legs. To do so, make sure to figure out where to drill the pilot holes. I just want to add that I am still figuring this out because I have effed up a few times so far and drilled onto the side of face of the dresser and I'll have to use ply board to cover it up. *SIGH* But this is how you and I will learn. After, you take the furniture legs and the furniture hardware and figure out where best to screw it in so that some of the screws will be drilled into the wood planks and the Kullen (two birds, one stone).


Check out the legs on this dresser.

I also wanted to add wood between the two dressers to ensure the 2 center legs will also have a solid base. In total, I used 4 Waddell angle top plates in the four corners of the dresser and 2 straight top plates in between where the two dressers meet aka 6 legs. OK I’m done for right now... stay tuned for part deux ♥️

1,783 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page