top of page

Mirror Mirror On The Wall...

I AM OBSESSED WITH MIRRORS! Not that I like to look at myself, but because I like to look at mirrors. Is that weird? Mirrors, I think are a great way to add decor and also, mirrors are like shoes. It can make or break an outfit. Actually, that seems way too harsh. What I'm trying to say is that mirrors are great. This is my FAVORITE mirror in the house. This picture probably seems a little familiar to you, it's my Gold Leaf Vanity Cabinet that I DIYed (DIY-ed?), which you can see here!

THAT MIRROR THOUGH!!!!

So this mirror inspired me to add the gold onto the cabinet. In my post about this DIY, I had said that I had some sort of like vision of doing a crackly-robin's egg nail trend thing but in GOLD. Anyways, I was out thrifting with my BFFL because she was wedding decor shopping and we walked into a shop called Bethesda Thrift Shop located in Chrystal Lake, IL. That's where the magic happened. Well, not at first... we walked in and IDK I just wasn't feeling the vibe. I'm not even sure what that vibe is supposed to be like but I just know I was not vibin'. We literally walked around everywhere, and then I saw it. I can honestly say that the whole "Love At First Sight" thing is definitely real and it for sure exists. This beautiful gold mirror was in a metal bin. I picked it up and it immediately gave me all of the DIY inspiration. I turned this treasure over and it was $2.99. LET ME REPEAT IT FOR YOU! IT WAS TWO DOLLARS AND NINETY NINE CENTS. Mind friggin' blown. Usually this MCM looking mirrors are a couple hundos. I refused to let this mirror go. I even held it for the cashier and watched both her hands and made my BFFL pay for it because I didn't want to let the mirror go to reach for my wallet.


I want to just say that this mirror is much heavier than expected. There also wasn't any sort of hardware on the back for my to hang it. CRAP. UGHHH. That's why it's just leaning against the wall atm - I actually have it hanging now but I was too lazy to take a picture and also the golden hour for taking a really pretty picture had passed so you're getting this recycled picture, sorry not sorry. Anyways, I did some googling and learned that you can attached your own hardware! I used one of these, they're called D-Rings LOLOL. [I have the mind of a 16 years old male]. So you just screw these onto the back of whatever mirror you want to hang! I made sure to drill pilot holes but BE CAREFUL not to go through too far! Then I used painter's tape by taking a strip that's longer than whatever you're hanging. I taped it against the back of the mirror, and then marked where the two D-Ring holes were, and then I took that tape and put it up on the wall. I guess you could measure but this just seemed more stupid proof. Make sure to use a level so that it's hanging up straight! After that, I used a nail and hammer to mark the holes to see if there was a stud in the wall - there wasn't so then I had to use a drywall anchor. The one I bought could hang like 75lbs on each anchor so that seemed pretty legit to me. I can't find the one I used but the on the back it says that you'll hear a little pop once the anchor is ready to go! Don't screw it in all the way so that the D-Rings have something to hang to, and then that's it!


Eh, it's not staged, and there's a dollar tree bag but it is what it is.

Voila!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page