top of page

The Angsty Artist

Can I just say that 2 years ago my boyfriend told me to "find a hobby"? I told him that my hobby was him... I guess he didn't like me putting him as the center of my universe *serious eye roll*. So now, I'm digging through #Goodwill bins, obsessed with going to garage sales, begging him to take me to flea markets, and perusing the FB marketplace (which BTW is freaking amazing). Oh, and the best part is that he hates this too. Suckaaa should have let me kept doting on him. Loser.


Anyways, the other day I went into Goodwill and found this big ugly ass painting (sorry to the person who painted it... but also not because I now have this amazing piece of art hanging to welcome you in!!!). I forgot to take the 'before' picture but it basically was an abstract(?) painting with green and brown hues.

I added the white/gray paint smears!

I also want to add that the only sort of formal art training I've had was being forced to do art classes in grade school. I kind of just did whatever to this piece and I experimented with spray paints using these colors: gray, off white, red, blue, pastel yellow, and metallic spray. I also just played around with it too because I have no freaking idea what the first step of being an artist is. I probably could have Youtubed a few things but truthfully, I wanted this piece to come from my non-artist mind and I had a lot of fun figuring things out!

Just take a look at this beauty!

I added a few more finishing touches aka more paint splatter and then sent this picture to my boyfriend who responded with "interesting". I told him what I was doing with the spray paints, and his smartass sent me this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pS6cs1JvxU


Just watch it because that's probably what I looked like to my neighbors. I also want to add that I used furniture spray paint LOL because that's what I had and I wasn't about to go out (lazy) and buy some expensive artist paint (cheap). I let this piece dry outside for about 2 hours. Brought it back in, measured it, leveled it, added anchors (there's different types of anchors), and then spent 1 hour trying to hang this wire back, almost 6 foot long painting onto the wall. By this time, it was 1:00AM but something was missing and I figured that if I added Gold Leaf aka the same stuff I put on my white vanity, then it would look way prettier. AND I WAS RIGHT JUST THIS ONE TIME!!! Check this baby out:


I am SQUEALING. I'm so proud of it!

No one's seen this piece in person but I am just sooooooo happy about it because this is the first art piece I have ever done that was just born out of my ideas and thoughts. I didn't look online or anything. Gosh do I feel like a big girl artist! Moral of the story is that sometimes you should just wing it and everything's going to turn out okay, oh and your boyfriend shouldn't tell you to find a hobby.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáře


bottom of page